(580) 249-9100

"No Refusal" Weekend

What happens when the State forces a needle in your arm for no good reason?

No Refusal Weekend

There has been some publicity regarding what is called a “no refusal weekend” in Norman tonight and tomorrow. Here is how it works: If you are pulled over for suspicion of DUI and you refuse to take the State’s test, they will contact a judge and request a warrant to stick a needle in your arm and take your blood without your permission. Here is what that looks like:

Video

Other videos show people who are surrounded by several officers and strapped down while one officer forcibly turns their head with a headlock maneuver and holds it while someone jams a needle in their arm and takes their blood. For most people, they are being cooperative, but no matter, they are still forcibly held down against their will for “officer safety.”

“Well they just should’ve taken the breathalyzer,” you say. But here’s the thing: This does little to help the State’s case for prosecution of a DUI. In fact, in some instances, it may HURT their case if the blood analysis comes back under .08. If you refuse to take the State’s test, you are presumptively guilty of DUI. All the State has to prove is that the officer had probable cause (a very low standard) to believe you were intoxicated. That’s it. So in essence, the police in Norman are going to be torturing people for no reason.

When are we, as citizens, going to stand up against these violations of people’s rights, even if they don’t affect us directly? When are we going to say things like this from the police are NOT OK? If not you, then who? If not now, when? 

If you are against these kinds of intrusions, contact your local State Representative or Senator or the following politicians from Cleveland County and let them know:  

Cleveland County DA Greg Mashburn,  (405) 321-8268  

Rep. Scott Martin, scott.martin@okhouse.gov, (405) 557-7329

Rep. Bobby Cleveland, bob.cleveland@okhouse.gov, (405) 557-7308

Rep. Josh Cockcroft, josh.cockroft@okhouse.gov, (405) 557-7349 

Rep. Mark McBride, mark.mcbride@okhouse.gov, (405) 557-7346

Rep. Paul Wesselhoft, paulwesselhoft@okhouse.gov, (405) 557-7343

Rep. Chris Kannady, chris.kannady@okhouse.gov, (405) 557-7337 

Rep. Emily Virgin, emily.virgin@okhouse.gov, (405) 557-7323

Rep. Claudia Griffith, claudia.griffith@okhouse.gov, (405) 557-7386

Sen. John Sparks, sparks@oksenate.gov, (405) 521-5553

Sen. Rob Standridge, standridge@oksenate.gov, (405) 521-5535 

Sen. Anthony Sykes, lewis@oksenate.gov, (405) 521-5569

Or anyone on the Norman City Council: http://www.normanok.gov/cityclerk/city-council

 

Leave a Reply